The New Girl In Town

You’re either a New Yorker or you aren’t.

This doesn’t just refer to geographical location. There’s a lot more involved, such as which entrance to the Subway gets you to the 6 Downtown without taking 3 pee-soaked underpasses, or how to see through the 3 BEDROOM MUST SEE INCREDIBLE APARTMENT headline and realize that its a closet with a sink. 

Moving to New York has meant dealing with a huge learning curve and realizing the tremendous pressure to know the city like the back of my hand already. There’s nothing more disappointing than having to tell Aunt Marj that you don’t know that cute little Italian hole in the wall on 7th and 1st, even though its over 50 blocks from where you live. 

I got here a little over 3 weeks ago, and while I’ve already missed a few huge firsts (the first time I realized you don’t set foot in certain parks after dark even if the bar you want is directly on the other side, getting my shitty part time job, my first celebrity sighting, quitting my shitty part time job, discovering the heaven that is my local bagel shop ), I’m going to continue to chronicle my attempt to become a New Yorker.

Its hard to resist the temptation to describe some of the highlights of the past 3 weeks. But if I can successfully pass 4 gyro stands to and from work everyday, I can resist anything…

Leave a Reply

