NYU

Last night was my first class at NYU. I signed up for “The Fountainhead in New York City” because I read the book over the winter and really liked it, and wanted to learn more about it. I also read Loving Frank, which really got me more interested in Wright and architecture. I thought the class would be a good way to meet people – who doesn’t need a few more friends? 

nyu-mercer-st_4818

Not my campus.

This class was more or less the opposite of everything I imagined it would be. 

It was held in some high school downtown, so I didnt even get to pretend I was an NYU student (actually it was kind of cool because this high school had 5+ stories and had escalators instead of staircases! And it was a blast from the past to see “Vote Janna Homecoming Queen 2010!”). My classmates were the biggest hodge-podge of old people ever assembled. One guy was a nerdy, not-so-closet comic book aficionado. Another was a pushy guy from Brooklyn decked out in gold chains. My favorite classmates were a couple who’d been married 50 years and met over Ayn Rand! I want to be their adopted child. 

You never realize how much credibility a college campus lends to a professor until some dingy guy tells you that he’s teaching your class. If he’d been standing in front of a lecture hall he’d just be “that eccentric Professor McGowan!”, but in a high school classroom he looked pretty lame. Sorry.

The class itself is going to be interesting, I think, if these people ever let the poor man follow his lesson plan. 

On the way home, I met some guy who plays volleyball in a league, so I think I’m going to get to play volleyball! Hopefully my teammates will be closer to my age…

2 thoughts on “NYU

  1. Blondie says:

    Canadian and US high schools are SOOOOO different. You guys have so many formals and vote for this and that and we have NONE of that!

  2. Rachel says:

    That class sounds awesome! Although I would want a class on Atlas Shrugged, not the fountainhead. Somewhere, I think there is a “Fountainhead Cafe” but it’s a vegan place and I don’t think it has anything to do with Ayn Rand.

    This is mostly unrelated, but I’m being ridiculous in trying to get this project funded; this classroom is looking for donations that go to get students Ayn Rand books (among many others) and I like the irony of donating to it (Rand would not approve) and getting books to high school kids, so I’m sharing the link: http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=323025&challengeid=23248

    It’s part of a much bigger donation project, but I’ve just adopted this one as my pet one.

Leave a Reply

