Art, Movies, Weather, and More

So I fell off the face of the earth for a few days. No big deal. 

Since I posted last, Ive been doing a lot of exciting-but-not-that-exciting things; I’ll try to stay in chronological order but it doesnt really matter…

DSCN4386The Guggenheim! 

This was one of the coolest museums Ive ever seen. Not only was the building nice to look at, but it served its purpose perfectly (well done, Mr. Wright). You could walk up the entire museum, one long ramp, and see an entire collection uninterrupted. Its the best way to view an artist’s work. On every floor was an annex where they displayed other artists’ work. My favorite was the Masters’ Collection: Van Gogh, Picasso, Cezanne, Monet, Manet – the only person missing that I’d like to see was Rembrandt. I went on Saturday night, when its pay what you wish. Hey, Im still on a budget.

The next day I got inspired, and my roommate and I decided to make some art of our own. Since neither of us are very artistic, we decided to take it easy and stick to geometric shapes, which are easy as long as you know math. We made this piece for a little under $100, and it only took us 3 hours. Im pretty obsessed with it. 

DSCN4389

Later that week I went to see Whip It, the movie Drew Barrymore directed. LOVED IT. Its the best movie I’ve seen in years. Seriously, if I found a roller derby team, I’d totally sign up (well, maybe).

Wednesday had the usual shenanigans at Bar 12….

I spent the past weekend in Boston. If I had to cheat on New York, it would definitely be with Boston. I love the buildings there, and how everything is much cooler. And everyone there has awesome clothes – hello boots! 

Today I decided to do a better job of hunting down thrift shops, so I found the nearest Goodwill, and right nearby was a place called Vintage Thrift Shop on 3rd by 22nd. They had some cool stuff for cheap, including furniture, retro clothes that you dont have to be hipster or funky Asian to wear, and tons of books and housewares. I left with only one vase, mostly because I didnt want to deal with carrying anything else back on the subway with me. 

Looks like its gotten a little warmer for now, but I am dreading the next few months. I am realizing that my closet isnt even close to being equipped for the upcoming weather. I spend the entire time in Boston being cold, and it was miserable. I literally slept in my jeans and sweater, under some beach towels and blankets. Thank God my bed here is more or less attached to the radiator, and my shower gets hot enough to melt your skin. 

Looks like I will have to root for the Phillies, because I would rather get crushed by the 6 train than root for the Yankees.

If you haven’t read Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson, DO IT!

2 thoughts on “Art, Movies, Weather, and More

  1. Candice says:

    Ahh, you make me want to visit NYC, and I’m most definitely not a New Yorker either. LOVED “Three Cups of Tea.”

  2. […] cover. We’ve decided to paint the background of the bookcase the same color tan that is in our painting, so when that gets done I’ll share a picture. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

Leave a Reply

