Snow Day*

*Used loosely because I still had to go to work

Despite all warnings of the Snowpocalypse, life carried on generally as normal today except that it made work especially excruciating. It had barely started coming down this morning, but by the afternoon we had at least 5 or 6 inches.

At lunch I decided to go out and explore the winter wonderland. Since I work right by Central Park, and one of my favorite things about snow is seeing it on trees, I headed over there. I walked past the Zoo which was closed, much to the dismay of the sea lions, who kept leaning up on the edge of their exhibit begging for an audience. 

I kept walking and came across a wide, steep hill full of kids sledding, parents taking pictures, and sisters pushing each other down in the snow. I stood there for a few minutes watching the pure joy on their faces (could I make myself any more sick? I can’t believe I just typed that) and then decided I needed to join in on the fun. 

After mustering up some courage, I approached a trio of people that looked to be around my age – I obviously couldn’t approach a child without raising a few flags – and asked them if I could take one of their sleds for a ride. Luckily I wasn’t the first person to ask them that all day and they were cool with it; one of them even went up the hill with me and went down to show me where to start from and everything. I made it all the way down the hill and over the sidewalk before I fell off, which for a Southern girl is pretty impressive. 

Alright, now is the snow melted yet?

Leave a Reply

