Cooking Class!

Recently I made a list of 25 things to do before I turned 25. Luckily I’ve got … eek a little less than 2 years! I figured there’s no time like the present, so I signed up for one of the things on my list: cooking classes. I’m taking Techniques of Italian Cooking at the Institute of Culinary Education and I LOVE IT!! The class is 5 students, 1 head Chef and 2 sous chefs. Its great because the class is recipe-driven, but there is still a lot of room to learn new techniques for basic things. Not to mention I’ve been having a culinary affair with the boot-shaped country for years….

The pictures don’t really do it justice, but the food was incredible. Its a 5-week class, we meet for 5 hours every Monday night. There’s a short lesson at the beginning, and then we all walk through the recipe together and discuss it before tying on the aprons. I absolutely love it — we made every sort of dish, from asparagus wrapped in prosciutto to pasta ‘incaciata (on the right). More or less its a cake-shaped dish that is made with baked eggplants and a penne & veal mixture. To die for. I may not have the patience or equipment to make it again in the near future, but just the memory will hold my taste buds over for a long time. I definitely plan on taking another course in a few months after I save up some more money. So this is me encouraging you to take a class in something you’re interested in! Its a great idea, I promise!

One thought on “Cooking Class!

  1. Jill says:

    Sounds fun! I wish they had cooking classes around here. Because I def. need them lol

Leave a Reply

