Busy Bee

You know how traveling — no matter where you went — makes you exhausted and immediately ready for another weekend? That’s how I felt all week this week after heading down to DC last weekend. I had quite the eventful week, so this weekend I was ready to relax and take it easy.

Tuesday night I did my usual gay ritual of watching Glee with Dan and a bottle of wine, then made some ridiculous phone calls singing “All I Want for Christmas is You.” My middle name is Class, by the way. Wednesday night I had a volleyball game and tried to keep up with the big boys afterwards by taking shots of whiskey BETWEEN rounds of flip cup. Needless to say I’m not a big boy, and GC had his hands full later when I strong-armed him into letting me come over.

Thursday night deserves its own paragraph. It was my friend Devlin’s birthday party, and he decided to make it Club Kid themed. For those of you who don’t know, “The Club Kids were a group of young New York City club personalities mostly led by Michael Alig and James St. James in the late 1980s and early 1990s. This group was notable for their outrageous costumes and extensive drug use—in particular, ecstasy, ketamine, and heroin, although preferences ranged. Some were even assigned names and personas by Alig himself.”

You know in Mean Girls when Janice calls the other guy “too gay to function”? That basically sums up my night. I couldn’t have had more fun, and I’ve never seen more leather, lace, eyeliner, and thigh-high boots in one place. We all met at Devlin’s house (who by the way was wearing a gold suit, no shirt underneath, and had gold sequins glued to his face), then cabbed it down to a club called Avenue where someone graciously provided bottle service and appetizers. Needless to say I camped out by the table where the waiter was bringing out apps. The night was awesome, but it made for a tough Friday morning.

Saturday morning was what I have been waiting for for weeks. A few Glee’s ago, after a bottle of wine, I called Calle Ocho and made reservations for a random date in the future. October 16 was finally upon us, so me and GC and a few other friends headed to the UWS for unlimited sangria and maybe a little food. As usual I wasn’t disappointed, and stumbled out a couple hours later. I came home and faceplanted for a few hours before trying to rally for a friend’s birthday party. That failed miserably, so I came back home for a full night’s sleep. Tonight I’m headed to  The Language Archives, which I’ve heard is very very good. Then the perfect nightcap: Mad Men season finale. Don’t go, Don, please don’t go!

Leave a Reply

