FOMO

My friends & I frequently discuss our struggles with FOMO – fear of missing out. Ninety percent of the time, I am perfectly happy with whatever I choose to be doing. Yesterday I was lazing around the house in my flannels & moccasins, making bread, and watching Up All Night – all great snowy-Saturday-night activities. However, when my friend Pete texted me to ask if I was going to his sister’s party downtown, I second-guessed myself. Yeah, it was snowy and gross out…but did I really want to miss seeing my friends? Sure, I’ll be spending 5 days with them in Vermont in a couple weeks…but maybe tonight will be something awesome. “Come on, I even gelled my hair for you” pushed me over the edge, and I relented.

So I got dressed and headed downtown to 7th & Avenue C. The guy driving my cab was a huge jerk – he was texting the entire drive (which is completely illegal) – and at the end of the ride he asked if I could see his phone.

“What? I can see that its on…why?”

“Because I’m texting girls all night, you know.”

Okay, well I’m glad I took down your medallion number because I’m reporting your ass.

I walked in the bar and immediately knew I made a mistake. Alphabet Lounge is about the size of a postage stamp and there was about 150 people jammed in there. I saw some of Pete’s friends waiting in the coat check line and made a beeline. The music was so loud that you had to do the ear-makeout just to have a conversation, which is one of my least favorite things to do (I imagine everyone feels that way). Girls I didn’t recognize kept coming up to me and yelling ‘HEY! HOW’S IT GOING!?!” Those were the only times I was glad it was too loud for conversation – a simple smile, nod, and point in the other direction was enough to get me out of a jam. I stuck it out for a few drinks, but after an hour I had to call it quits.

I know I lean more towards being a homebody, especially now that I have a boyfriend. But events like that typically make me doubt myself – should I be enjoying that? Am I a senior citizen trapped in a 24-year-old’s body? Last night, though, I was 100% sure that I wanted to be leaving and I was making the right choice. Does that mean I’m outgrowing FOMO? I guess only time will tell.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “FOMO

  1. aebarron says:

    You’re not alone, I’m only 21 and am perfectly fine staying in most nights!

Leave a Reply

